Read The Complete Stories by Flannery O'Connor Free Online

Ebook The Complete Stories by Flannery O'Connor read! Book Title: The Complete Stories
City - Country: No data
Loaded: 2664 times
Reader ratings: 6.1
The author of the book: Flannery O'Connor
Edition: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Date of issue: 1971
ISBN: No data
ISBN 13: No data
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 6.74 MB

Read full description of the books:

Alternate cover edition for ISBN 9780374515362

The publication of this extraordinary volume firmly established Flannery O'Connor's monumental contribution to American fiction. There are thirty-one stories here in all, including twelve that do not appear in the only two story collections O'Connor put together in her short lifetime--Everything That Rises Must Converge and A Good Man Is Hard to Find.

O'Connor published her first story, "The Geranium," in 1946, while she was working on her master's degree at the University of Iowa. Arranged chronologically, this collection shows that her last story, "Judgement Day"--sent to her publisher shortly before her death—is a brilliantly rewritten and transfigured version of "The Geranium." Taken together, these stories reveal a lively, penetrating talent that has given us some of the most powerful and disturbing fiction of the twentieth century. Also included is an introduction by O'Connor's longtime editor and friend, Robert Giroux.

Download The Complete Stories PDF The Complete Stories PDF
Download The Complete Stories ERUB The Complete Stories PDF
Download The Complete Stories DOC The Complete Stories PDF
Download The Complete Stories TXT The Complete Stories PDF

Read information about the author

Ebook The Complete Stories read Online! Flannery O'Connor was born in Savannah, Georgia, in 1925. When she died at the age of thirty-nine, America lost one of its most gifted writers at the height of her powers. O’Connor wrote two novels, Wise Blood (1952) and The Violent Bear It Away (1960), and two story collections, A Good Man Is Hard to Find (1955) and Everything That Rises Must Converge (1964). Her Complete Stories, published posthumously in 1972, won the National Book Award that year, and in a 2009 online poll it was voted as the best book to have won the award in the contest’s 60-year history. Her essays were published in Mystery and Manners (1969) and her letters in The Habit of Being (1979). In 1988 the Library of America published her Collected Works; she was the first postwar writer to be so honored. O’Connor was educated at the Georgia State College for Women, studied writing at the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, and wrote much of Wise Blood at the Yaddo artists’ colony in upstate New York. She lived most of her adult life on her family’s ancestral farm, Andalusia, outside Milledgeville, Georgia

Reviews of the The Complete Stories


A hard book, obviously not for everyone.


Why do you ask me to write a phone?


Light fiction for Cloudy day


Why do you ask me to drive a phone?


An interesting book that says more than you can fit

Add a comment

Download EBOOK The Complete Stories by Flannery O'Connor Online free

PDF: the-complete-stories.pdf The Complete Stories PDF
ERUB: the-complete-stories.epub The Complete Stories ERUB
DOC: the-complete-stories.doc The Complete Stories DOC
TXT: the-complete-stories.txt The Complete Stories TXT