Read The Philosophical Detective by Bruce Hartman Free Online

Ebook The Philosophical Detective by Bruce Hartman read! Book Title: The Philosophical Detective
City - Country: No data
Loaded: 2066 times
Reader ratings: 4.3
The author of the book: Bruce Hartman
Edition: Swallow Tail Press
Date of issue: June 1st 2014
ISBN: No data
ISBN 13: No data
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 383 KB

Read full description of the books:

Cambridge, Massachusetts, 1967. Nick Martin has just started graduate school when he’s dragooned into serving as the driver, guide and confidant of a blind poet by the name of Jorge Luis Borges. Together they must address an extraordinary series of crimes and the equally baffling conundrums of literature and philosophy, including Zeno’s paradoxes, the mind/body problem, and the mysteries of destiny, personal identity and artistic creation. Nick plays the parts of Watson, Sancho Panza, Dante and Stephen Daedalus, and before the story ends he hears the last tale of Scheherazade and finds the love of his life. Forty-five years later, struggling with pain and grief, he looks back with wonder at the magical year when he wandered into the labyrinth and took his first steps to self-understanding.

Lighthearted but deeply serious, The Philosophical Detective is a unique journey into the visionary world of a genius.

Kirkus Reviews called The Philosophical Detective “...a suspenseful, pitch-perfect novel with an unlikely lead detective: a fictionalized version of iconic Argentine writer Jorge Luis Borges (1899-1986)..... An intelligent, original detective novel.”

Note: With my apologies, at this time the book is available only in the United States.

Download The Philosophical Detective PDF The Philosophical Detective PDF
Download The Philosophical Detective ERUB The Philosophical Detective PDF
Download The Philosophical Detective DOC The Philosophical Detective PDF
Download The Philosophical Detective TXT The Philosophical Detective PDF

Read information about the author

Ebook The Philosophical Detective read Online! Bruce Hartman has worked as a pianist, bookseller and attorney. The author of eight novels, he lives with his wife in Philadelphia.

His eighth novel, a legal thriller entitled THE DEVIL'S CHAPLAIN, was released in May, 2018. This book tells the story of a young attorney, Charlotte Ambler, who volunteers to represent a death row inmate, a once-prominent biologist named Christopher Ritter, who asserts his innocence but doesn’t regard his life as worth saving. Charlotte fights to save him in spite of himself as the clock ticks toward the execution date. In this gripping tale of deception and self-deception, betrayal and violence, lawyer and client find common ground in their quest for justice and human values.

Award-winning crime writer Ken Bruen (author of the Jack Taylor series) had this to say about THE DEVIL'S CHAPLAIN:

"Brilliant!... It is one of the finest depictions of evil I have ever read and is a superb depiction of manipulation.... It is also a highly entertaining mystery with a heroine as compelling as she is gutsy."

Bruce Hartman's seventh novel, POTLATCH, a satirical comedy in the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut, was published in 2017. It is the second book in a projected "Philadelphia Trilogy" of which the first book was A BUTTERFLY IN PHILADELPHIA.

Lisa McCombs, writing for Readers' Favorite Book Reviews, gave POTLATCH five stars and called it "hilarious... one of the most amusing reads ever to be published."

The first book in the trilogy, A BUTTERFLY IN PHILADELPHIA, has garnered a following on Amazon, sometimes reaching No. 3 on the paid best-seller list for literary satire. Readers' Favorite Book Reviews gave the book Five Stars and called it "one of the strange comic masterpieces that you're quite lucky to run across once in a very great while."

POTLATCH follows another comic novel, BIG DATA IS WATCHING YOU!, a satirical techno-dystopia set in a future in which the all-powerful force of Big Data rules humanity through the Internet of Things and the corporate power of the FANGs. It is the story of how one defiant customer foils the conspiracy to delete humanity from Google Earth.

Bruce Hartman's previous four novels were mysteries. The first one, PERFECTLY HEALTHY MAN DROPS DEAD, won the Salvo Press Mystery Novel Award and was published by Salvo Press in 2008. His second book, THE RULES OF DREAMING, was published by Swallow Tail Press in 2013. Kirkus Reviews selected THE RULES OF DREAMING as one of its "Top 100 Indie Books of 2013." Another mystery, THE MUSE OF VIOLENCE, was also released in2013.

THE PHILOSOPHICAL DETECTIVE, subtitled "The True Story of An Imaginary Gentleman," was published in 2014. It explores the boundary between literary fiction and the mystery genre - and as always in Hartman's fiction, between fiction and reality.

I hope you will visit and “Like” my Bruce Hartman Author Page on Facebook and my website.

Reviews of the The Philosophical Detective


This needs to be read to each


Now this book is one of my favorites!


Written easily, vividly, wisely.


You can, and you should read it.


Energy text

Add a comment

Download EBOOK The Philosophical Detective by Bruce Hartman Online free

PDF: the-philosophical-detective.pdf The Philosophical Detective PDF
ERUB: the-philosophical-detective.epub The Philosophical Detective ERUB
DOC: the-philosophical-detective.doc The Philosophical Detective DOC
TXT: the-philosophical-detective.txt The Philosophical Detective TXT